This task will show you that the option Work in DMU Mode is
replaced by View Product
Structure only, in
Tools > Options > General > Compatibility > ENOVIA V5 (tab) >
CATIA Client Interoperability Administration (title).
In order to fit to DMU processes, the modification of the Product Structure should not be saved when the reviewer is not allowed to. For example, as constraints are not available in session, any modification of the position of a Part leads to an inconsistency that must not be saved in the ENOVIA V5 VPM database, in which there is no way to see or fix this problem. This why only Technological Packages (TP) can be saved, as they are dedicated to contain DMU data.
In order to guarantee the consistency
of the session, this View Product Structure only mode will be applied to all the Products loaded
in the V5 session. If this option is checked and after
each load from the database, only the TP can be saved because the TP
allow applications to save / retrieve and expose their data inside a
PDM system. A warning appears explaining this situation.
There is no more warning
telling the user that he is currently designing "non savable" data, except
at Open time.
For more information about DMU mode, see How to open two Versions of the same
Part in the same Product Structure.
For more information about TP, see Knowledge and DMU User Guides.
To set the DMU mode, you need to check the View Product
Structure only setting:
Save Behavior for objects that are not TP:
All modifications on objects which are not TP, are not saved:
The objects are listed in the Save in ENOVIA V5.
For each modified (or new) object, a specific message is displayed in the Incident Report toolbox to inform the user that the object named XXX is not saved in ENOVIA V5, because the View Product Structure only mode is active.
The same specific message is displayed for:
For deleted objects, there is not a message for each deleted object. Only one message per document containing deleted objects is displayed.
Save Behavior for objects that are TP:
The TP are saved even if they are depending on existing data that
are modified and not saved.
Modifications are saved or not, depending if it is possible (People & Organization (P&O) check…). The TP are saved independently. Although a TP could not be saved, its prerequisite and post-requisite TP will be saved.
TP links created in DMU mode will be broken in non-DMU mode, but TP links created in DMU on modified and unsaved design will be broken in non-DMU mode.