||This task shows you how to save a
document for the first time or under another name.
||Before you begin, note that files in STL
format cannot be saved using File > Save As when working in
Wireframe mode. The reason is that STL files are generated
from the visualization tessellation and tessellation triangles are not
available when switching to Wireframe mode.
Select File > Save As to open the following dialog box:
In the Save As dialog box, specify the
location of the document to be saved as well as its name and type.
The Save as new document
check box lets you save an existing document under a new name but
with a new UUID (Unique Universal IDentifier).
This option is effective only when the document is saved in its
native format, i.e. when the document type (displayed in the
Save as type box) has not been modified. Otherwise, this
option is ineffective.
- When using File > Save As
for a new document, the Save as new document check
box is not displayed in the Save As dialog box
because it is irrelevant in this context.
|If the name you give to the
file already exists, a message appears to ask if you really
want to overwrite the already existing document.
- You are not allowed
to use national characters or forbidden special characters in the
document name. For a reminder, refer to About Filenames.
- On Windows, documents cannot be stored in a folder for which
delete authorization is not set.
If the document you are trying to save points to parts, a pop-up is
displayed to warn you that these parts will also be saved and you are
prompted to click either Yes (to confirm), or Cancel
if you do not want to save these pointed parts. In that case, select File > Save Management
to choose the documents to be saved.
This pop-up message is not displayed if you select File > Save
Note that the Save As dialog
box lets you rename or delete the selected file/folder by
right-clicking it then selecting Rename or Delete.
After clicking Delete, a confirmation dialog box appears:
click OK to delete the selected item.
When renaming a file or folder, if the new name you entered is already
used, the item is not renamed and a warning message is displayed.
More about the Save As mechanism
When you save a file by giving it the name of another
existing file, this does not mean that the new file is identical to the
original one. As a matter of fact, a file is identified by its name but
also by its UUID (Unique Universal IDentifier) which differs from one
file to another (except when a file is a copy of another one, for
To illustrate this, let's suppose a CAProduct containing two CATParts,
Part1.CATPart and Part2.CATPart:
Product1 and the two parts it points to are saved
using File > Save As, then the Product1 is closed
A new part is created using File > New
The new part is saved as "Part2" in the same folder
then Part2 is closed
When re-opening Product1, you are informed that Part2
cannot be found.
The reason is that the new document saved as "Part2"
has been given a new UUID when using File > New and this new
UUID is different from the one assigned to the original Part2.
Therefore, the link between Product1 and Part2 is considered as broken,
even if there is a Part2.CATPart document, because the original Part2
does not exist anymore.
If you want to reroute the link to the new Part2.CATPart, you need to
select Edit > Links then click Replace.